Praying for New York

The Tower and bridges were lit pink
in joy just a year ago. 
Jubilation over abortion at will.

Now three hundred thousand have 
Coronavirus number nineteen and
I need to pray
for them.

What shall I pray for those who 
voted, “Yes, let’s invite death?”
Now he’s there, knocking on their doors, 
and they do not see what they have done.

How can I tell them that
when they die, they’ll face a
God who hates the shedding of innocent blood?
How can I not tell them?

What should I pray for those who applauded, 
but were duped by the fruit 
of slick, sly promo that said destroying 
someone else’s DNA was a “right?”

And for those who did not choose this,
who lost jobs and will still somehow
care for their parents, kids, neighbors, 
and strangers? For them, I know how to pray.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.